Search PubMedSearch

SEARCH · Search PubMed

Results for “sex differences”

Search indexed PubMed citations on genomics, clinical trials, systematic reviews and public health. Explore titles, authors and supplied subject terms, then open the PubMed record.

Quote a phrase for an exact phrase match. Source license links do not imply unrestricted reuse.

1,138 records · Page 12Linked to original sources

The effects of nitrate and nitrite supplementation on mitochondrial respiration in permeabilized muscle fibres in young healthy adults.

Nitric oxide (NO) is a direct regulator of mitochondrial respiration. Nitrate (NO3-) and nitrite (NO2-) are good sources of NO, but whether their effects on mitochondrial respiration differ between in vivo and in vitro administration remains unclear. In Study 1, 8 participants consumed NO3- -rich beetroot juice (BR) (∼12.8 mmol NO3-) and NO3- -depleted placebo beetroot juice (PL) (∼0.08 mmol NO3-) acutely and chronically for 2 weeks in a randomised, double-blind, crossover design. A substrate-uncoupler-inhibitor titration (SUIT) protocol was used to assess mitochondrial respiration using high-resolution respirometry (oxygen tension: ∼200-450 μM) in permeabilized muscle fibres. In Study 2, skeletal muscle samples were collected from 11 participants. In a randomised, crossover design, different doses (0, 1.5, and 3.0 μM) of sodium nitrite (NaNO2) were administered to permeabilized muscle fibres. Mitochondrial respiration was measured using the same SUIT protocol under lower oxygen tension (∼50-200 μM). Although muscle NO3- concentration significantly increased after both acute and chronic BR supplementation, mitochondrial respiration and exercise performance did not differ between PL and BR in either condition. Similarly, absolute oxygen flux across different respiratory states were not different between different doses of NaNO2. However, the leak control ratio, reflecting the degree of uncoupling of mitochondrial respiration, was significantly higher with 3.0 μM NaNO2 administration (0.12 ± 0.05) compared to 0 μM NaNO2 administration (0.09 ± 0.04, P = 0.03). These findings, involving both in vivo and in vitro administration approaches, albeit in the presence of relatively high oxygen concentrations, suggest that neither NO3- nor NO2- improves mitochondrial respiration, at least in young healthy adults.

Humans

Alignment strategies in total knee arthroplasty and the patellofemoral joint: A systematic review.

BACKGROUND: Different alignment strategies in total knee arthroplasty (TKA) may affect the patellofemoral joint. Mechanical alignment (MA) is commonly used but may alter native anatomy. Newer strategies such as kinematic alignment (KA), restricted kinematic alignment (rKA), and functional alignment (FA) aim to better restore native joint mechanics. This study provides an overview of the effects of alignment strategies on patellofemoral outcomes after TKA. METHODS: A literature search in July 2025 identified studies comparing patellofemoral outcomes in TKA using different alignment strategies. Of 166 studies screened, eight met inclusion criteria. Three studies were considered medium quality and five studies low quality. RESULTS: KA and rKA more closely restored native trochlear morphology than MA and FA, reducing outliers in the anterior trochlear line compared with MA and FA. MA showed greater trochlear translation, suggesting worse patellar tracking. Trochlear angles were more anatomical in KA and rKA. However, KA was associated with increased internal femoral component rotation and more outliers beyond safe thresholds. FA showed more consistent rotational positioning, generally within safe limits. Lateral patellar shift and intraoperative lateral release rates did not differ significantly between KA and MA. Only one study reported patella-specific clinical outcome scores, finding no difference between FA and adjusted MA. CONCLUSION: KA and rKA better restore trochlear morphology, but risk excessive internal femoral component rotation. FA provides a more balanced approach. MA, while widely used, is linked to altered trochlear shape and worse patellar tracking. The clinical impact of these radiological differences remains unclear, and higher-quality studies are needed.

Humans

Ketamine Plus Midazolam versus Fentanyl Plus Midazolam for Sedation and Analgesia during Image-guided Procedures in Interventional Radiology: Randomized Clinical Trial.

Background Opioid-benzodiazepine regimens remain common for radiologist-administered procedural sedation despite respiratory and analgesic effectiveness concerns. Purpose To compare intraprocedural pain and patient-reported experience between ketamine/midazolam and fentanyl/midazolam during image-guided procedural sedation. Materials and Methods This randomized clinical trial was conducted at a single academic center between June 2025 and February 2026. Adults undergoing image-guided lung or bone biopsy or abscess drainage were randomized to fentanyl/midazolam or ketamine/midazolam administered by interventional radiologists. Procedures were performed using US, CT, CT fluoroscopy, or combined CT and US guidance. The primary outcome was maximum intraprocedural pain (0-10 on the Numeric Rating Scale). Secondary outcomes included sedation depth, physiologic parameters, oxygen desaturation, patient-reported experience assessed using a modified Heidelberg questionnaire, and complications. Results Among 264 randomized procedures (132 procedures per group) in 260 participants (median age, 68 years [IQR, 61-75 years]; 135 [52%] female), ketamine/midazolam resulted in lower maximum intraprocedural pain than fentanyl/midazolam (mean difference, -1.4 points [95% CI: -2.0, -0.8]; P < .001). Pain scores greater than 4 occurred less frequently with ketamine/midazolam (2.3% vs 17%; absolute difference, 14 percentage points [95% CI: 8, 21]; P < .001). Ketamine/midazolam was associated with higher nadir oxygen saturation (mean difference, +1.4% [95% CI: 0.6, 2.2]; P = .001) and fewer oxygen desaturation events below 90% (three [2.3%] vs 13 [9.8%]; absolute difference, 7.6 percentage points [95% CI: 1.9, 13.3]; P = .02). Ketamine/midazolam produced deeper sedation and higher intraprocedural systolic blood pressure. Hallucinations occurred more frequently with ketamine/midazolam (15 [11.4%] vs five [3.8%]; absolute difference, 7.6 percentage points [95% CI: 1.3, 13.9]; P = .03), though overall procedural comfort, reduced recall, and perceived adequacy of sedation were improved. Procedure-related and sedation-related complications did not differ between groups. Conclusion Radiologist-administered ketamine/midazolam during image-guided procedural sedation improved analgesia and patient-reported experience with fewer hypoxemic events and no increase in complications compared with fentanyl/midazolam. Clinical trial registration no. NCT07040163

Aged

Distinct molecular responses to acute cold exposure revealed by comparative transcriptomic and metabolomic profiling in the bay scallop Argopecten irradians.

Acute cold stress can elicit distinct molecular responses even when bay scallop populations show similar phenotypic outcomes. We compared a seventh-generation fast-growing bay scallop line (BS) with a commercial control population (CC) during a 72-h acute cold exposure at -1&#xa0;&#xb1;&#xa0;0.3&#xa0;&#xb0;C. RNA-seq was used as the discovery layer, representative BS cold-responsive genes were evaluated by qRT-PCR, and paired LC-MS profiles provided a comparative metabolic layer. At baseline, 138 genes differed between BS and CC; after cold exposure, 134 of these baseline differences disappeared and 61 of 65 cold-state differences newly emerged. BS showed a larger transcriptomic response magnitude than CC, with 1129 cold-responsive genes compared with 28 genes in CC, and this ordering remained robust across multiple sensitivity analyses. Survival after 72&#xa0;h was identical in BS and CC (83/90, 92.2% in each population). Biochemical responses were time-dependent and marker-specific: CAT, LZM, T-SOD and T-AOC showed population-by-time interactions, whereas GSH-Px and MDA did not, and the 72-h differences were not consistently favourable to BS. Metabolomic cold effects were strongly concordant between populations, and no feature showed a significant population-by-cold interaction. Features putatively assigned to arachidonic acid metabolism were enriched, but this provider-annotated pathway signal remains exploratory because authentic-standard confirmation was not performed. These findings indicate population-specific differences in molecular responsiveness but do not establish superior cold tolerance in BS.

Animals

Digital Structured Education With Behavioral Nudge Tools for Adults With Type 2 Diabetes: Multicenter Randomized Controlled Trial.

BACKGROUND: Digital interventions offer scalable alternatives to traditional face-to-face diabetes education, but often face challenges related to inconsistent clinical effectiveness, and declining user engagement. However, whether a digital structured education program integrated with behavioral nudge tools can improve metabolic, behavioral, and psychological outcomes in adults with type 2 diabetes remains unclear. OBJECTIVE: This study aimed to evaluate the effectiveness of a digital structured education program integrated with behavioral nudge tools in improving metabolic, behavioral, and psychological outcomes among adults with type 2 diabetes. METHODS: This multicenter randomized controlled trial was conducted in the endocrinology departments of 4 hospitals in China. Adults with type 2 diabetes were randomly assigned to an intervention group receiving a digital structured education program integrated with behavioral nudge tools (n=146) or a control group receiving standard digital diabetes education (n=147). Assessments were conducted at baseline and 12-week follow-up. The primary outcome was hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) at 12 weeks, adjusted for baseline HbA1c, and study center. Secondary outcomes included fasting blood glucose (FBG), weight, BMI, waist circumference, blood pressure, lipid profiles, self-management behaviors, self-efficacy, and habit strength. RESULTS: Among 293 participants (mean age 49.19, SD 10.02 y), 287 (97.9%) completed follow-up. At 12 weeks, the intervention group demonstrated significantly greater improvements than the control group in HbA1c (adjusted mean difference -0.38%, 95% CI -0.68% to -0.09%; P=.01), FBG (adjusted mean difference -0.75, 95% CI -1.27 to -0.44 mmol/L; P<.001), weight (adjusted mean difference -0.84, 95% CI -1.61 to -0.07 kg; P=.03), BMI (adjusted mean difference -0.38, 95% CI -0.65 to -0.11 kg/m&#xb2;; P=.01), systolic blood pressure (adjusted mean difference -2.71, 95% CI -4.62 to -0.79 mm Hg; P=.01), diastolic blood pressure (adjusted mean difference -2.92, 95% CI -4.47 to -1.37 mm Hg; P<.001), and total cholesterol (adjusted mean difference -0.27, 95% CI -0.48 to -0.05 mmol/L; P=.02). The intervention was also associated with significantly greater improvements in self-management behaviors, self-efficacy, and habit strength (all P<.05). CONCLUSIONS: Digital structured education integrated with behavioral nudge tools improved metabolic outcomes and strengthened psychological and behavioral determinants of self-management among adults with type 2 diabetes over a 12-week period. These findings suggest that a digital structured education program integrated with behavioral nudge tools may enhance diabetes self-management beyond standard digital diabetes education. Further studies with longer follow-up and real-world implementation are warranted to evaluate the sustainability, generalizability, and long-term clinical impact of this integrated intervention.

Humans

Opioid-sparing anesthesia based on opioid-free principles for early recovery after total knee arthroplasty: A randomized controlled trial.

OBJECTIVE: To evaluate whether an opioid-sparing anesthesia strategy (OSA), based on opioid-free anesthesia (OFA), improves early postoperative recovery quality and optimizes functional outcomes after total knee arthroplasty (TKA), compared with conventional opioid-based anesthesia (OBA). DESIGN: A randomized controlled trial with blinding of patients, surgeons, and outcome assessors. SETTING: Single center, July 2025 to February 2026. PATIENTS: 98 adult patients scheduled for elective unilateral TKA. INTERVENTION: Patients were randomized to the OSA or OBA group. The OSA regimen used esketamine and dexmedetomidine as the primary analgesic backbone, whereas the OBA regimen was opioid-based. Both groups received preoperative femoral nerve block and were administered oxycodone at skin incision and closure. Postoperatively, both groups received the same multimodal analgesia and patient-controlled analgesia. MEASUREMENTS: The primary outcome was the 24-h postoperative Quality of Recovery-15 (QoR-15) score. Secondary outcomes included 48-h QoR-15; Oxford Knee Score (OKS) and EQ-5D-3L at 1 and 3&#xa0;months; high pain at 1&#xa0;month and chronic postsurgical pain at 3&#xa0;months. Exploratory outcomes included postoperative C-reactive protein (CRP), and postoperative nausea and vomiting (PONV), among others. RESULTS: At 24&#xa0;h postoperatively, QoR-15 was higher in the OSA group than in the OBA group (118.4&#xa0;&#xb1;&#xa0;11.5 vs 113.3&#xa0;&#xb1;&#xa0;12.2; adjusted difference 5.12, 95% CI 0.51-9.74; P&#xa0;=&#xa0;0.029), and this advantage persisted at 48&#xa0;h (adjusted difference 5.54, 95% CI 1.57-9.52; P&#xa0;=&#xa0;0.007). The OSA group had a lower incidence of PONV (P&#xa0;=&#xa0;0.025) and lower postoperative CRP levels (P&#xa0;=&#xa0;0.001). At 1&#xa0;month, OKS was higher in the OSA group (adjusted difference 2.31, 95% CI 0.34-4.27; P&#xa0;=&#xa0;0.022), with no significant differences in other secondary outcomes. CONCLUSION: In TKA, this OFA-based OSA strategy improved early postoperative QoR-15 scores. However, the QoR-15 difference did not reach the minimal clinically important difference, so its clinical relevance remains uncertain.

Humans

A prospective crossover study comparing ICCS-recommended and Palmer-adjusted filling rates in children with spina bifida.

OBJECTIVE: This study aimed to investigate whether the maximal cystometric capacity (MCC) in children with spina bifida (SB) is indeed lower, as predicted by the Palmer formula, and to evaluate the impact of different bladder filling rates on urodynamic parameters. MATERIALS AND METHODS: This prospective, randomized, two-sequence crossover-controlled study included 70 children aged 3-18 years with spina bifida under regular follow-up. In Group 1, the first two bladder fillings were performed at the ICCS-recommended rate, and the third at 75% of that rate (Palmer formula). In Group 2, the sequence was reversed. Urodynamic parameters, including maximal cystometric capacity (MCC), bladder compliance, detrusor activity, filling pressures, and detrusor leak point pressure (DLPP), were analyzed across fillings. RESULTS: Cystometric bladder capacity was lower during fillings performed at the Palmer-adjusted rate compared with those at the ICCS-recommended rate. The proportion of reduced compliance significantly decreased in Group 1 (p = 0.046) but remained unchanged in Group 2. A significant positive correlation was observed between expected bladder capacity (EBC) and measured MCC in both groups (&#x3c1; &#x2248; 0.5-0.6). The highest correlation and agreement were found in Group 1 during the third filling at the Palmer rate (ICC = 0.606). No significant intra- or intergroup differences were observed in detrusor pressure, end-filling pressure, DLPP, or overactive bladder prevalence. CONCLUSION: Bladder filling rate was associated with differences in both cystometric capacity and bladder compliance in children with spina bifida. Fillings performed according to the Palmer formula (approximately 75% of the ICCS-recommended rate) were associated with capacities that more closely approximated age-expected values and with modest differences in bladder compliance. Conversely, faster filling rates did not produce similar benefits. These findings suggest that slower filling strategies may improve measurement consistency and agreement with expected bladder capacity estimates. However, the magnitude and direct clinical impact of these differences should be interpreted cautiously, particularly in light of the potential influence of sequence-related effects.

Humans

Clinical Performance of Bulk-Fill Versus Incremental Composite Placement Approaches in Vital Posterior Teeth: A 24&#x2009;Months Randomized Controlled Trial.

BACKGROUND: Composite resin placement technique may influence marginal integrity, polymerization stress distribution, and long-term clinical performance of posterior restorations. This randomized controlled clinical trial evaluated the 24-month clinical performance of four different placement techniques in Class I posterior composite restorations. METHODS: Fifty patients aged 20-35&#x2009;years presenting with four occlusal carious lesions each were enrolled, resulting in 200 restorations. Cavities (4-5&#x2009;mm depth) were prepared according to caries extension. Restorations were randomly allocated into four equal groups (n&#x2009;=&#x2009;50) according to placement technique: stamp technique, snowplow technique, modified incremental "pizza" technique, and bulk-fill technique. All materials were applied following manufacturers' instructions. Clinical evaluation was performed at baseline and after 6, 12, and 24&#x2009;months using FDI criteria. Functional (fracture/retention, marginal adaptation), esthetic (marginal staining, anatomical form), and biological (postoperative sensitivity, secondary caries) properties were assessed by two calibrated evaluators. Statistical analysis was performed at a significance level of &#x3b1;&#x2009;=&#x2009;0.05. RESULTS: Thirty-eight patients with a total of 152 restorations were evaluated at the end of the 24&#x2009;months in line with FDI at the end of the study with 76% recall rates. No statistically significant differences were observed among groups regarding fracture/retention or secondary caries (p&#x2009;>&#x2009;0.05). Marginal adaptation and marginal staining demonstrated minor deterioration over time across all groups, with statistically significant intergroup differences found (p&#x2009;<&#x2009;0.05). Postoperative sensitivity was minimal and transient in all groups with no significant difference (p&#x2009;=&#x2009;0.181). CONCLUSIONS: Within the limitations of this 24-month follow-up, the four placement techniques demonstrated comparable clinical performance in Class I posterior composite restorations. Selection of technique may therefore be guided by clinical preference and procedural efficiency rather than differences in short-term clinical outcomes. TRIAL REGISTRATION: ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT07415317.

Humans

King's Mill anterior-posterior and transverse versus paracervical block in operative outpatient hysteroscopy: a randomised trial.

BACKGROUND: Pain control during operative outpatient hysteroscopy remains a clinical challenge, with the paracervical block (PCB) showing inconsistent efficacy. The King's Mill Anterior-Posterior and Transverse (KAPT) block targets the Lee-Frankenhauser plexus within the uterosacral ligament complex, where the highest density of uterine and cervical sensory fibres lies. We compared the KAPT block with the PCB in operative outpatient hysteroscopy. METHODS: Single-centre, participant- and outcome assessor-blinded randomised controlled trial in a UK district general hospital. Forty-eight women undergoing operative outpatient hysteroscopy were randomised 1:1 to the KAPT block or the PCB, each delivered with 10&#x2009;ml of prilocaine. Pain was measured on a 10-point Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) during the procedure and 10&#x2009;minutes post-procedure (co-primary endpoints), and during cervical dilatation (exploratory). Analyses used the Mann-Whitney U test on an intention-to-treat basis, with Hodges-Lehmann median differences, percentile bootstrap 95% confidence intervals, and a hierarchical fixed-sequence testing strategy. RESULTS: Median intra-procedural VAS was 1 (IQR 0 to 3) with the KAPT block versus 2 (IQR 1 to 6) with the PCB (Hodges-Lehmann median difference -1.00, 95% CI -3.00 to 0.00; p&#x2009;=&#x2009;0.040). At 10&#x2009;minutes post-procedure, median VAS was 0 (IQR 0 to 1.25) versus 2 (IQR 0 to 3.25) (median difference -1.00, 95% CI -2.00 to 0.00; p&#x2009;=&#x2009;0.011). Both co-primary endpoints reached significance under hierarchical testing. Cervical dilatation pain did not differ significantly (p&#x2009;=&#x2009;0.146). Satisfaction was 100% in both arms; willingness to recommend was 100% (KAPT) versus 95.8% (PCB). No serious adverse events occurred. CONCLUSIONS: The KAPT block was associated with lower intra-procedural and post-procedural pain than the PCB, with effect sizes consistent with a clinically meaningful difference. These findings support the KAPT block as a superior, anatomically targeted alternative to the PCB and justify evaluation in a larger multicentre trial.Trial registration: ISRCTN15619382.

Humans

Written vs. verbal sleep hygiene strategies administration in track and field athletes: a randomized controlled trial study.

BACKGROUND: Sleep hygiene strategies (SHS) are practical, evidence-informed recommendations to enhance both the quantity and quality of sleep in athletes. However, little is known about how these strategies could be communicated and implemented in practice. The primary objective of this study is to investigate how different methods of delivering SHS (written vs. verbal) affect sleep hygiene and sleep parameters in athletes. METHODS: The study was a three-arms randomized controlled trial (ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT07083544) involving track and field athletes competing at the regional or national level (N.=66). Athletes were randomized to either a control group (CON=22), a written SHS group (W-SHS=22), or a verbal SHS group (V-SHS=22). Sleep characteristics were assessed by actigraphy and sleep diary during a ten-day baseline period (T0) and a ten-day intervention period (T1). Six objective sleep parameters and the Sleep Regularity Index were assessed. Participants also completed a training diary and the Sleep Hygiene Index (SHI). RESULTS: No statistical differences were found between and within groups in training and sleep parameters, but SHI scores improved significantly in the intervention groups between T0 and T1, with differences compared to the control group. A non-significant improvement in total sleep time was observed in the intervention groups, primarily due to earlier bedtimes. CONCLUSIONS: While significant differences in objective sleep measures were not observed, the trends suggest that both written and verbal SHS interventions can modestly improve sleep-related behaviors, particularly by encouraging earlier bedtimes and slightly extending total sleep duration.

Humans

Effect of an oral complementary medicine combination for symptomatic knee osteoarthritis: A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial.

OBJECTIVE: Many individuals use complementary medicine therapies for osteoarthritis, despite limited scientific supporting evidence. These therapies have demonstrated anti-inflammatory, antioxidative, and chondroprotective effects via different molecular pathways, suggesting potential therapeutic benefits. This trial aimed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of a novel oral complementary medicine combination in adults with symptomatic knee osteoarthritis at 12 weeks. DESIGN: The 12-week, double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled ATLAS trial was conducted in Australia from July 2024 to April 2025 (ACTRN12623000380695). Eligible participants were aged &#x2265;40 years with symptomatic knee osteoarthritis and radiographic Kellgren-Lawrence grade &#x2265;2. Participants were randomized 1:1 to receive the complementary medicine combination, comprising a total daily dose of Boswellia serrata extract 250&#x202f;mg, pine bark extract 100&#x202f;mg, methylsulfonylmethane 1500&#x202f;mg, curcumin 500&#x202f;mg, and piperine 5&#x202f;mg, or placebo. The primary outcome was the 12-week change in knee pain (0-100&#x202f;mm visual analogue scale (VAS)). A 95% confidence interval excluding differences >18&#x202f;mm between groups was interpreted as the absence of a clinically meaningful difference. Harms were monitored weekly. RESULTS: Eighty-four participants were recruited (mean [SD], age 63.7 [8.0] years, BMI 29.0 [5.5] kg/m2), and 57% were female. At 12-weeks, both groups (intention-to-treat population: complementary medicine, n=42; placebo, n=41) showed a decrease in VAS pain (least squares means: complementary medicine 20.1&#x202f;mm vs placebo 20.3&#x202f;mm), however with no difference between groups: 0.16&#x202f;mm (95% CI -6.81 to 7.12). The safety profile of experiencing any AE was similar between groups (risk difference, -3.4% [95% CI -24.8-17.9%]); and most adverse events were mild or moderate. Four participants experienced serious adverse events, unrelated to the treatment. CONCLUSIONS: The complementary medicine combination was not superior to placebo for improving pain over 12 weeks, and the evidence does not support the use of this combination to treat people with symptomatic knee osteoarthritis.

Humans

Frequency of Human Brucellosis Complications in West Asia: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.

BACKGROUND: Brucellosis is a multi-systemic zoonotic infection. The West Asia/Middle East region is an important global hotspot for brucellosis. This systematic review and meta-analysis aimed to aggregate and synthesize all the available evidence regarding the complications of brucellosis in West Asia/Middle East region. METHODS: PubMed, Embase, Scopus, Web of Science, Google Scholar, and Proquest were searched. Selection of studies, data extraction, and the risk of bias assessment were performed in duplicate. Data extraction was performed for 254 complications. Meta-analysis was performed using a random-effects model with Freeman-Tukey double arcsine transformation. Where applicable small-study effects was assessed using funnel plots and Egger's test. Separate by-country, by-age, and by-publication-decade subgroup analyses were performed if feasible. RESULTS: Out of 9518 results, 240 studies (260 references) were included. The majority of the included studies were conducted in Turkey (n&#x2009;=&#x2009;177). The reported complications varied and different complication categorization systems were detected. The highest pooled estimate was observed for musculoskeletal involvement (50%, 95%CI: 39%-61%, I2&#x2009;=&#x2009;96.63%). The evidences is up-to-date until March 4, 2024. CONCLUSIONS: Some complications such as the complications of the eye were not reported in all the countries. Therefore, it's recommended to determine the relative frequency of those complications in regions without such reports. The pooled estimates of different complications of brucellosis were different. There's a need for the standardization of the reporting of the complications of brucellosis to achieve comparability between studies and across different regions.

Brucellosis

Health Literacy and Capecitabine Adherence in a Remote Monitoring Pilot Trial for Breast Cancer: Post Hoc Exploratory Analysis.

BACKGROUND: Oral anticancer therapy enables convenient, home-based cancer care but can introduce adherence challenges, particularly with complex dosing schedules. Capecitabine is commonly used in breast cancer, often as adjuvant therapy or in advanced disease, and typically requires twice-daily dosing on cyclical schedules, increasing the risk of missed or incorrect doses. Low health literacy may exacerbate these difficulties, and emerging remote monitoring tools may help close this gap. OBJECTIVE: In this post hoc exploratory analysis, we evaluated whether health literacy (1) was associated with capecitabine adherence and (2) modified a remote monitoring intervention's effectiveness. METHODS: We conducted post hoc analyses of a 2-arm pilot trial that randomized women with breast cancer treated with capecitabine to enhanced usual care (EUC) or remote patient monitoring (RPM). Adherence was captured with a smart pill bottle, Nomi by SMRxT, that recorded dose timing and quantity. Participants in the RPM group received messages for missed or incorrect doses and weekly symptom assessments. Incorrect or missed doses and severe symptoms triggered alerts to the oncologist. Health literacy was assessed at enrollment. To evaluate moderation, we used linear regression with an interaction term (health literacy &#xd7; intervention arm) predicting adherence (proportion of days). Marginal effects quantified differences in adherence by study arm and health literacy. RESULTS: Among 28 participants (EUC, n=15 and RPM, n=13), 9 (32.1%) had lower health literacy, 16 (57.1%) identified as Black, 10 (35.7%) identified as White, and 15 (53.6%) had income below 200% of the federal poverty level. In the regression model, the health literacy &#xd7; randomized group interaction did not reach statistical significance (-16.3 percentage points, 95% CI -35.5 to 2.9; P=.09). Predicted adherence among lower health literacy participants was 87.5% in the RPM group and 65.5% in the EUC group (difference: +22.1 percentage points, 95% CI 6.2-37.9; P=.008). Among participants with higher health literacy, adherence was 89.9% in the RPM group and 84.1% in the EUC group (difference: +5.7 percentage points, 95% CI -5.2 to 16.7; P=.29). Within the EUC group, predicted adherence was 18.6 percentage points lower among those with lower versus higher health literacy (95% CI -32.4 to -4.9; P=.01); within the RPM group, this difference was 2.3 percentage points lower among those with lower versus higher health literacy (95% CI -15.8 to 11.1; P=.73). CONCLUSIONS: In this post hoc exploratory analysis, the estimated difference in capecitabine adherence between the RPM and EUC groups was larger among participants with lower health literacy. Although the formal interaction test was not statistically significant, the magnitude and direction of the observed difference support further investigation of RPM as a potential approach to improve adherence among patients facing health literacy-related adherence barriers. Larger, prospectively powered studies are needed to confirm these findings and evaluate downstream clinical outcomes.

Humans

Clinical features and outcomes of patients with anti-neutrophil cytoplasmic antibody-positive systemic lupus erythematosus from a single-center retrospective study.

INTRODUCTION: The role of anti-neutrophil cytoplasmic antibodies (ANCA) in systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) remains unclear. ANCA positivity has been linked to more severe disease and possible overlap with ANCA-associated vasculitis, but available data are inconsistent. METHODS: We conducted a retrospective single-center study of SLE patients treated at the University Hospital in Krak&#xf3;w (2012-2022). Patients fulfilled the 2019 EULAR/ACR criteria. ANCA positivity (anti-MPO or anti-PR3) was confirmed by ELISA. Clinical features, laboratory findings, treatment, and outcomes were analyzed. RESULTS: Among 1039 SLE patients, 18 (1.73%) were ANCA-positive (anti-MPO, 72.22%; anti-PR3, 27.78%). Most ANCA-positive SLE patients were female (88.89%), with a median age at disease onset of 35.5&#xa0;years. The most common manifestations in ANCA-positive cases were hematological abnormalities (100%), constitutional symptoms (88.89%), and joint involvement (88.89%). Renal involvement was observed in 72.22% (n&#x2009;=&#x2009;13) of ANCA-positive SLE patients; however, lupus nephritis was confirmed by kidney biopsy in only seven cases. Vasculitis was rare (5.56%). Anti-dsDNA (61.11%) and anti-SSA (50%) were the most frequent autoantibodies. No significant differences were found between anti-MPO and anti-PR3 subgroups. Most ANCA-positive patients received glucocorticoids (94.44%), cyclophosphamide (61.11%), and antimalarials (61.11%). No statistically significant differences were observed between the ANCA-positive and ANCA-negative groups (p&#x2009;>&#x2009;0.05 for all parameters). CONCLUSIONS: ANCA positivity in SLE is rare and predominantly associated with anti-MPO antibodies. It is linked to frequent renal involvement but infrequent vasculitis. No differences were observed between ANCA subtypes, suggesting no distinct clinical phenotype. Key Points &#x2022; ANCA positivity was rare in this systemic lupus erythematosus cohort (1.73%) and was predominantly associated with anti-MPO antibodies rather than anti-PR3 antibodies. &#x2022; No significant differences in demographic characteristics, clinical manifestations, comorbidities, or autoantibody profiles were observed between ANCA-positive and ANCA-negative patients. Similarly, no significant differences were identified between the anti-PR3-positive and anti-MPO-positive groups. &#x2022; ANCA-positive SLE was commonly associated with the need for intensive immunosuppressive treatment, highlighting its potential relevance as a marker of severe disease course.

Humans

Effects of 12 weeks of resistance and concurrent training with graded protein intakes on lipid profile, kidney and liver biomarkers in middle-aged to older women.

PURPOSE: To examine secondary lipid, kidney-related, and liver-enzyme responses to three protein intakes during resistance training (RT) alone or the same RT plus cycling (CT) in middle-aged to older women. METHODS: In this randomized 2&#xd7;3 factorial trial, 108 women aged 40-77 years were assigned to RT or CT and 0.8, 1.6, or 2.2 g kg-1 d-1 protein for 12 weeks. This complete-case secondary analysis included 83 participants. Linear mixed-effects models tested Time &#xd7; Training, Time &#xd7; Protein, and Time &#xd7; Training &#xd7; Protein effects, with false-discovery-rate-adjusted omnibus tests and Holm-adjusted contrasts. RESULTS: Triglycerides, total cholesterol, LDL-C, and apolipoprotein B decreased and HDL-C increased in all conditions. Lipid changes differed by protein condition, and several were more favorable with CT; however, CT comprised RT plus additional cycling and greater exercise exposure. Urea, blood urea nitrogen, creatinine, the blood urea nitrogen-to-creatinine ratio, and cystatin C increased, whereas three eGFR estimates decreased. Responses differed mainly between 0.8 and the two higher protein conditions, with little evidence of differences between 1.6 and 2.2 g kg-1 d-1. ALT, AST, and GGT differed by protein condition; AST and GGT also showed training-dependent responses. CONCLUSIONS: The dietary and exercise interventions modified lipid and clinical-chemistry responses. Because energy and food composition were not fully matched and CT added cycling to RT, the findings do not isolate protein dose or exercise modality. Changes in eGFR estimates and liver enzymes do not establish organ injury or long-term safety.

Humans

Magnesium sulphate for women at risk of preterm birth for neuroprotection of the fetus.

BACKGROUND: Magnesium sulphate is a common therapy in perinatal care. Its benefits when given to women at risk of preterm birth for fetal neuroprotection (prevention of cerebral palsy for children) were shown in a 2009 Cochrane review. Internationally, use of magnesium sulphate for preterm cerebral palsy prevention is now recommended practice. As new randomised controlled trials (RCTs) and longer-term follow-up of prior RCTs have since been conducted, this review updates the previously published version. OBJECTIVES: To assess the effectiveness and safety of magnesium sulphate as a fetal neuroprotective agent when given to women considered to be at risk of preterm birth. SEARCH METHODS: We searched Cochrane Pregnancy and Childbirth's Trials Register, ClinicalTrials.gov, and the World Health Organization (WHO) International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) on 17 March 2023, as well as reference lists of retrieved studies. SELECTION CRITERIA: We included RCTs and cluster-RCTs of women at risk of preterm birth that assessed prenatal magnesium sulphate for fetal neuroprotection compared with placebo or no treatment. All methods of administration (intravenous, intramuscular, and oral) were eligible. We did not include studies where magnesium sulphate was used with the primary aim of preterm labour tocolysis, or the prevention and/or treatment of eclampsia. DATA COLLECTION AND ANALYSIS: Two review authors independently assessed RCTs for inclusion, extracted data, and assessed risk of bias and trustworthiness. Dichotomous data were presented as summary risk ratios (RR) with 95% confidence intervals (CI), and continuous data were presented as mean differences with 95% CI. We assessed the certainty of the evidence using the GRADE approach. MAIN RESULTS: We included six RCTs (5917 women and their 6759 fetuses alive at randomisation). All RCTs were conducted in high-income countries. The RCTs compared magnesium sulphate with placebo in women at risk of preterm birth at less than 34 weeks' gestation; however, treatment regimens and inclusion/exclusion criteria varied. Though the RCTs were at an overall low risk of bias, the certainty of evidence ranged from high to very low, due to concerns regarding study limitations, imprecision, and inconsistency. Primary outcomes for infants/children: Up to two years' corrected age, magnesium sulphate compared with placebo reduced cerebral palsy (RR 0.71, 95% CI 0.57 to 0.89; 6 RCTs, 6107 children; number needed to treat for additional beneficial outcome (NNTB) 60, 95% CI 41 to 158) and death or cerebral palsy (RR 0.87, 95% CI 0.77 to 0.98; 6 RCTs, 6481 children; NNTB 56, 95% CI 32 to 363) (both high-certainty evidence). Magnesium sulphate probably resulted in little to no difference in death (fetal, neonatal, or later) (RR 0.96, 95% CI 0.82 to 1.13; 6 RCTs, 6759 children); major neurodevelopmental disability (RR 1.09, 95% CI 0.83 to 1.44; 1 RCT, 987 children); or death or major neurodevelopmental disability (RR 0.95, 95% CI 0.85 to 1.07; 3 RCTs, 4279 children) (all moderate-certainty evidence). At early school age, magnesium sulphate may have resulted in little to no difference in death (fetal, neonatal, or later) (RR 0.82, 95% CI 0.66 to 1.02; 2 RCTs, 1758 children); cerebral palsy (RR 0.99, 95% CI 0.69 to 1.41; 2 RCTs, 1038 children); death or cerebral palsy (RR 0.90, 95% CI 0.67 to 1.20; 1 RCT, 503 children); and death or major neurodevelopmental disability (RR 0.81, 95% CI 0.59 to 1.12; 1 RCT, 503 children) (all low-certainty evidence). Magnesium sulphate may also have resulted in little to no difference in major neurodevelopmental disability, but the evidence is very uncertain (average RR 0.92, 95% CI 0.53 to 1.62; 2 RCTs, 940 children; very low-certainty evidence). Secondary outcomes for infants/children: Magnesium sulphate probably resulted in little to no difference in severe intraventricular haemorrhage (grade 3 or 4) (RR 0.81, 95% CI 0.64 to 1.04; 6 RCTs, 6542 infants; moderate-certainty evidence) and may have resulted in little to no difference in chronic lung disease/bronchopulmonary dysplasia (average RR 0.92, 95% CI 0.77 to 1.10; 5 RCTs, 6689 infants; low-certainty evidence). Primary outcomes for women: Magnesium sulphate may have resulted in little or no difference in severe maternal outcomes potentially related to treatment (death, cardiac arrest, respiratory arrest) (RR 0.32, 95% CI 0.01 to 7.92; 4 RCTs, 5300 women; low-certainty evidence). However, magnesium sulphate probably increased maternal adverse effects severe enough to stop treatment (average RR 3.21, 95% CI 1.88 to 5.48; 3 RCTs, 4736 women; moderate-certainty evidence). Secondary outcomes for women: Magnesium sulphate probably resulted in little to no difference in caesarean section (RR 0.96, 95% CI 0.91 to 1.02; 5 RCTs, 5861 women) and postpartum haemorrhage (RR 0.94, 95% CI 0.80 to 1.09; 2 RCTs, 2495 women) (both moderate-certainty evidence). Breastfeeding at hospital discharge and women's views of treatment were not reported. AUTHORS' CONCLUSIONS: The currently available evidence indicates that magnesium sulphate for women at risk of preterm birth for neuroprotection of the fetus, compared with placebo, reduces cerebral palsy, and death or cerebral palsy, in children up to two years' corrected age. Magnesium sulphate may result in little to no difference in outcomes in children at school age. While magnesium sulphate may result in little to no difference in severe maternal outcomes (death, cardiac arrest, respiratory arrest), it probably increases maternal adverse effects severe enough to stop treatment. Further research is needed on the longer-term benefits and harms for children, into adolescence and adulthood. Additional studies to determine variation in effects by characteristics of women treated and magnesium sulphate regimens used, along with the generalisability of findings to low- and middle-income countries, should be considered.

Humans

Complementary feeding patterns in preterm and term infants.

Complementary feeding is essential for infants' nutritional status and development, marking the transition to solid foods when breast milk or formula alone is insufficient. Despite its importance, clear recommendations on which foods to introduce when initiating complementary feeding in preterm infants are lacking. By using data from our previously published randomized controlled trial on the timing of complementary feeding in preterm infants, the current study explores the complementary feeding patterns of preterm infants and compares them with those of term-born infants, providing insights into parental decision-making and potential long-term health impacts. Complementary feeding practices differed significantly between preterm (n&#x202f;=&#x202f;255) and term (n&#x202f;=&#x202f;159) infants, with preterm infants more often receiving vegetables as their first solid food (85.4% versus 68.8%, difference 17.6% with 95% CI 12-35%). The group with early introduction of vegetables had a lower BMI-for-age z-scores (&#x3b2; -0.28 [95% CI -0.55 - 0.02]) and weight-for-height z-scores (&#x3b2; -0.27 [95% CI -0.53 to -0.01]) at two years of age. Additionally, preterm infants showed a greater variety in the numbers of different fruits and vegetables consumed by six months (corrected) age than term-born counterparts (8.29 (SD 3.65) versus 6.26 (SD 3.47), p&#x202f;<&#x202f;0.001). These results indicate that complementary feeding patterns in preterm infants differ from term-born infants, with potential positive implications on growth. These data contribute to the development of accurate feeding protocols for preterm infants. Given that feeding practices are culturally influenced, further multinational research is essential to refine complementary feeding guidelines for preterm infants and support caregivers in informed decision-making.

Humans

HSK21542 for Postoperative Analgesia in Gynecological Surgery: A Pooled Post-Hoc Analysis of Two Phase III Randomized Controlled Trials.

BACKGROUND: Effective postoperative pain management in gynecological surgery is challenging because of complex visceral-somatic pain interactions and the adverse effects of conventional analgesics. HSK21542, a novel peripherally restricted kappa-opioid receptor (KOR) agonist that selectively targets visceral pain pathways enriched with KORs, may provide adequate analgesia without systemic adverse events. METHODS: We conducted a pooled post-hoc analysis of data from two phase III, multicenter, triple-blinded, randomized controlled trials (Study 301, HSK21542 vs placebo; Study 303, HSK21542 vs tramadol vs placebo). Eligible patients undergoing elective gynecological surgery were included. The primary outcome was the summed pain-intensity difference over 12 and 24 hours (SPID 12h and SPID 24h ). Secondary outcomes were pain-relief quality (proportion of patients relieved from severe pain with a pain numerical rating score &#x2264; 3 between 0 and 24 hours) and rescue-analgesic requirements (number of doses and time to first rescue analgesic). Adverse events were also assessed. RESULTS: A total of 370 patients were analyzed: 150 received HSK21542, 139 received a placebo, and 81 received tramadol. After inverse probability of treatment weighting (IPTW) adjustment, baseline characteristics were well-balanced across treatment groups (all standardized mean differences [SMD] <0.1; see Table 1 for 95% CIs). HSK21542 produced greater reductions in pain intensity over 12 and 24 hours than placebo (least-squares mean differences -8.1 and -16.3 for SPID 12h and SPID 24h , respectively. Both P < .001) and no statistically significant difference was observed between HSK21542 and tramadol ( P > .05). Significantly more patients in the HSK21542 group were relieved from severe pain at 0 to 12 hours (92.7% vs 82.7%, P < .001) and required fewer rescue doses at 0 to 12 hours (0.00 [IQR 0.00-1.00] vs 1.00 [IQR 0.00-2.00], P < .001) and 0 to 24 hours (0.00 [IQR 0.00-1.00] vs 1.00 [IQR 0.00-2.00], P < .001) than those in the placebo group, whereas no significant differences with tramadol both in 0 to 12 and 0 to 24 hours. HSK21542 was also associated with significantly lower incidences of nausea (24.7% vs 66.7%) and vomiting (21.3% vs 60.5%) than tramadol. Only one case of dizziness occurred in the tramadol group. CONCLUSIONS: HSK21542 could provide adequate postoperative analgesia with few adverse events in patients undergoing gynecological surgery.

Humans